heartfelt reflections

we’ve all heard the adage ‘some people are in our lives for a reason, a season or a lifetime’. it’s always a hurtful wake up call when the ones you assume are there for a lifetime turn out to be only there for a season. it’s a very unique pain that comes in the wake of that turn of events. it’s some thing that i didn’t think i would need to experience again but yet here i am again and the pain is the same. but this time, i’m better prepared and better adjusted to the void that will now be in my life. it bothers me that this relationship has shuffled from “lifetime” to “a season” because of perceptions of half truths and misunderstandings. but i cannot control what others think or believe so i just let it go. as the relationships within my life tumble around and re-adjust i’m reminded that in the end the pain that hurts the worst comes from those who were the closest. i survived before and i most certainly will survive again because i know that time heals everything.

My Old Friend by Tim McGraw
My old friend, I recall the times we had hanging on my wall
I wouldn’t trade them for gold cause they laugh and they cry me
Somehow sanctify me. They’re woven in the stories I have told
And tell again

My old friend, my old friend
Goodbye, goodbye

Leave a Reply

