the ring story

So as the story goes…I’ve wanted a Mother’s ring since the World’s Greatest 7th Grader was about 3 yrs old. But it’s not something a Mom wants to buy for herself. So as he’s gotten older, I’ve mentioned it a couple times with no avail. This past May we were out shopping and I stopped at the Wal-Mart jewelry counter to drool (like I do every time) at the Mother’s or Family jewelry. We discussed it some but nothing significant. On Mother’s Day, the World’s Greatest 7th Grader came up to me and said, “I don’t want to tell you this but if I don’t you may just go buy it anyway but I’m saving my money to get you your Mother’s ring, Mom” – a great day for Mom!! The story goes on to the next Wednesday night. As usual, the World’s Greatest 7th Grader and I are glued to the TV while American Idol is on. They are down to 3, Haley, Lauren & Scotty (who he has in the AI pool). I watched as my James was sent home the week before. The World’s Greatest 7th Grader says, “Mom, if Scotty win’s I’ll have that money to buy your ring and you won’t have to wait so long.” I am touched but secretly now pulling for Scotty. As it goes, Scotty wins, we deliberate over which ring we should buy and alas, today…it was delivered. His birthstone (amethyst – purple), November’s birthstone (the month the adoption was final) and my birthstone (garnet – red). It was his idea to have he and I together and he liked this ring so he decided on the adoption day month. In case I’ve never mentioned it, I have the greatest kid ever!!
Leave a Reply

