after 23 years…

I have teased WGH (Worlds Greatest Husband) over and over how I need to trade him in for two 20 yr olds.  We have playful terms of endearment such as “ditz bag”, “dog face” & “jerk wad”.  He is constantly wrong because he never does anything my way.  I make fun of his icky toes.  He laughs at my lack of coordination.  He likes fresh sheets on the bed; I don’t think they are getting broke in until they’ve been on my bed for a month and a half.  He likes his socks to lay next to each other in the drawer; mine should be balled so they don’t lose their mate.  In other words, after 23 years we are pretty set in our ways and comfortable.  And while most of the world’s population thinks that’s a bad thing, I find that I’m just getting settled in for the long ride.  We may fight, antagonize each other and complain about the other, but rest assured, no one will treat him badly or they will have me to deal with.  Lots of people ask me the secret to a long marriage.  My answer always is stubborness.  I simply refuse to be a divorce statistic.  I simply choose every day to be happy.  He is my best friend.  Those who have been married a while will tell you, there are years that are bad; there are years that are good.  Luckily, you have a solid friendship to get you through the hard years until you make it back to the good years.  That, my friend, IS marriage.  Friendship, companionship and love.  After 23 years…I might have just figured it out.

A Friend Like U

 Lone Ranger and Tonto, Laurel and Hardy, Batman and Robin, there was Snoopy and Charlie

Friends through thick n’ thin; Friends to the very end. I think you would agree that’s how it is for you & me

 I-I-I want you to know – I need you; I-I-I want you to know, it’s true

There’s no-no-no way i’d make it without you; It’s so good to know, i’ve got a friend like you

I tell you it’s black but you see it white; You say go left but i know it’s right

No matter where we go be it through the highs & lows I will be by your side ‘cuz you and i are friends for life

Through all of the laughter and tears, through all of the questions and fears

Through all of the winning and losing and trying, I will be by your side ‘cuz you and i are friends for life

Leave a Reply

