5*

It was mid school year last year when World’s Greatest 7th Grader was chosen to be a part of an after school program called 5 Star. I didn’t know anything about it but was excited that he was getting involved in extracurricular activities at PMMS.

The first week I noticed a big change in him after going and we discussed it. He said that he was trying to do his goal which was to have a positive attitude. Another week I noticed he was trying to make amends with his friend of all of elementary school. Yet another week I noticed that he was trying to have a better relationship with his biological mom. These are all goals that he has been working on since becoming involved with 5 Star.

At the first award ceremony I noticed right away some very key points that were very familiar to me. I quickly volunteered to help out. Unfortunately work had other plans and I was only able to help out a couple weeks.

As the summer camp approached, I knew that when I sent my kiddo off, he would come back changed. As I suspected, the Summit Adventure was an amazing time for him. He did things I will never get over (climbing up a 28′ telephone pole and jumping off – trusting his friends would catch him with ropes) and learned that his relationship with God is extremely important. He’s asked me question after question and his hunger for knowledge of the Bible is amazing.

I’m so thankful for such an amazing program and more importantly, I’m thankful that God used whatever means he needed to reach out and touch WG8G.

Leave a Reply

